The Gallery

Guide to Mocking

The Return of an old friend... (February 2012)

This site closed in March 2021 and is now a read-only archive
CR
Critique

An issue we get at TV Forum quite a lot is that people post mocks as either total novices or without putting any thought, time or effort into them. Because of this, the Gallery has recently been dragged down with an influx of bad mocks, mostly from new users. This thread is here to help - read it through carefully and take the advice it gives. Maybe, with a bit of luck, we can prevent you from becoming the next TVMocker14 prodigy, and maybe even an MDTA prodigy? Wink

So, the basics. When planning your mock, try to a basic idea of what you want it to look like. In fact, why not get a pencil and paper out and sketch some rough ideas out? These basic plans can help you a lot, as they give you something to aim for in your end product. Also, there's a higher chance that the elements in your mock will all work together, as opposed to you bunging every new idea that hits you as you make your mock in to create one contrasting mush.

Don't spend five minutes rushing out a few half-formed ideas. In fact, don't spend five minutes rushing any part of your mock. Chances are, it will show, and you'll get slated by SomeRandomStuff for it. Wink Take your time. No-one is rushing you to finish your mock, so set yourself an easy pace, so you can create something that looks like you've put some thought and time into it. The best mocks are the mocks where the user has spent time crafting it, with an eye for detail - and it will show!