The Gallery

Twenty Twenty Oneness: BBC One in '21

A Rebrand for BBC's flagship channel (June 2020)

This site closed in March 2021 and is now a read-only archive
BL
Blewbatt
Disclaimer: I am not a designer. I just like design.

Since 2017, BBC One has been using the Oneness series of idents. When initially launched, and still to this day, they were criticised. At first, they started off with just two idents of people being awkward in front of a camera. Or dancing. The problem with Oneness, for me, was its execution. It took a rather tired aesthetic and paired it with a boring series of idents that don't make you think of quality British programming, award-winning news, and EastEnders.

The actual idea doesn't get enough credit. I like the idea of going up and down the country, seeing daily life, with regular people. I just think that the execution is wrong. What my mock ideas intend to achieve (and I refrain from calling them proper mocks because they are just still images) is as follows:

1. Rejig Oneness. Not outright get rid of it, but enhance the key components.
2. Look at the channel's logo, and make something new.
3. Attempt to change the channel colour, and find something else that works.

And this is what I have:

BBC One has used red in its branding for 23 years. Frankly, I don't like that red. I think it looks cheap and nasty, and a bit stale at this point. I chose this colour instead. Its a shade of orange (#FCA60C) that is warm, is fresh, and it is unique to the channel. I have also decided to replace the wordmark logo for one with a number. It is very hard to find a '1' that works as a logo. So, rather than do that, I just picked a version of the numeral that I liked.

The reason that the balloon idents worked was that the BBC didn't need a frivolous BBC One logo. It's all about the strength of the ident. If you were to plaster this on a 2017 Oneness ident, it wouldn't work. Instead, I created this still mockup image: