The Gallery

Reithifying the Regions

A BBC English Regions mock (bare with me!) (June 2019)

This site closed in March 2021 and is now a read-only archive
MW
Mike W
Please barewith me on this, I know there's loads of BBC News Mocks (of which I've probably created a fair few...)

So 2 weeks ago, with the impending launch of Reith across BBC News output I wanted to think of ways to improve on or change the current BBC E/R News look whilst tying into the master brand. I came up with a basic premise for an endboard quite quickly. Using only AfterEffects I came up with these.

This is the sketch btw, I am no artist so I apologise! It was a simple map it out before constructing the template in AfterEffects:
For the benefit of newer mockers, give this a go first - I tend to find it helps me get my barings with the software and where I'm going.

The first image, based on a sketch and drawing inspiration from the North West Tonight titles and the original Lambie-Nairn 2008 look was this:

I felt that leaving the white behind was probably another step to take (interestingly, and inspired by Nottingham's 'East Midlands Tonight' I went with darkening the colour scheme)

However felt that this was too dark, and with the orange and red quite jarring (the orange and red was seen by me as a 'Breakfast look' - despite the fact titles haven't been used on the breakfast output for a while).

Changing the colours I did like the darker scheme but it felt stuck in 2003 and the clamshell,look, and didn't suit the magazine nature of the English Regions output

So I settled on this

A blue tint to the backdrop and a slight gradient to the text and BBC News 'lozenge'.

Taking this idea into animation I came up with this short endboard (full titles are in AE but struggling to render due to me using an old laptop at the moment).