« Topics
Markymark6,868 posts since 13 Dec 2004
Meridian (North) South Today
I'm wondering, how often were the Channel 4 break fillers seen by 1991/92? The breaks seemed to get filled more and more as the years went on. I'm presuming C4 were still putting them out right till the end of 92 even if they weren't being seen.

I presume so too. I was a student in the TSW region when C4 started. There were no ads at all for the first two months, TSW started inserting them early-mid Jan 1983. I don't think TSW could be bothered, the combined effects of the Equity strike, and the fact only about 50% of TSW's region could receive C4 from the outset.

On the other hand (like YTV it seems) TVS filled every single break with something from day 1 to the 31 Dec 92
Si-Co gave kudos
bluecortina850 posts since 26 Jul 2012
I'm wondering, how often were the Channel 4 break fillers seen by 1991/92? The breaks seemed to get filled more and more as the years went on. I'm presuming C4 were still putting them out right till the end of 92 even if they weren't being seen.

C4 never put out break fillers, all they ever put out was a holding slide during the commercial breaks. A local ITV company could either ‘fill’ a shortfall in their local advertising material within that break by putting in ‘stuff’ like COI’s or simply return to the C4 holding slide. I don’t think you could even put out a TV Times.
Rexogamer gave kudos

C4 never put out break fillers, all they ever put out was a holding slide during the commercial breaks. A local ITV company could either ‘fill’ a shortfall in their local advertising material within that break by putting in ‘stuff’ like COI’s or simply return to the C4 holding slide. I don’t think you could even put out a TV Times.

I think James was referring to C4’s captions being break fillers ?

In the early months of C4 the break fillers were sometimes animated, basically by C4 pres stretching the capabilities of the Astons, and the DVE they had at their disposal.