TV Home Forum

Local TV

Are you local? (July 2013)

This site closed in March 2021 and is now a read-only archive
SP
Spiceweasel
The trouble is that is the reality of making television - you need numerous people to make even a fairly bog-standard production.

Yeah, but there's a difference between a few people, and 'a lot' of people. Without giving too much away about myself, I've worked in a number of newsrooms (both TV and radio), and for the amount of content produced, there seemed to be a large number of people.
WH
Whataday Founding member
Yeah, but there's a difference between a few people, and 'a lot' of people.

Neither are defined so are pretty useless when talking about a workforce.

Without giving too much away about myself, I've worked in a number of newsrooms (both TV and radio), and for the amount of content produced, there seemed to be a large number of people.

I have some experience of TV, radio and press newsrooms and literally know of no one in the last ten years that has ever said "you know what this place could do with? a few less people".
SP
Spiceweasel
I have some experience of TV, radio and press newsrooms and literally know of no one in the last ten years that has ever said "you know what this place could do with? a few less people".

Really? Have you never met management? That's the sort of thing that's said all the time. Every newsroom I've worked in over the last 20 years has only gotten smaller and smaller.

Nobody would say that about their own newsroom, but I recall a BECTU rep saying once in a meeting that a certain local newspaper newsroom had 'plenty of fat to trim' when it came to cutting costs, much to the annoyance of the NUJ rep that was there as well....
Last edited by Spiceweasel on 8 December 2018 9:37am - 4 times in total
Night Thoughts and Joe gave kudos

8 days later

:-(
A former member
That's TV have now updated their website and added the Scottish services, branded as follows:

That's TV Scotland North [Aberdeen]