The Newsroom

Russia Today

(March 2012)

This site closed in March 2021 and is now a read-only archive
CH
Charles
"News Director" is the term for the head of the news department in pretty much every market in the US, not just small ones. Also, in Buzzfeed's defense, it is pretty difficult to figure out internal information about the hierarchy of RT. RT was one of the news channels I studied in my undergraduate thesis, and it was pretty much impossible to get any detailed information about RT's funding and internal operations without having to go to secondary sources. For example, you will find almost no information about RT staff or its funding sources anywhere on its website, whereas every other English language news channel has information about their board and finances readily available.
Mouseboy33 and Rkolsen gave kudos
NG
noggin Founding member
"News Director" is the term for the head of the news department in pretty much every market in the US, not just small ones. Also, in Buzzfeed's defense, it is pretty difficult to figure out internal information about the hierarchy of RT. RT was one of the news channels I studied in my undergraduate thesis, and it was pretty much impossible to get any detailed information about RT's funding and internal operations without having to go to secondary sources. For example, you will find almost no information about RT staff or its funding sources anywhere on its website, whereas every other English language news channel has information about their board and finances readily available.

However a quick look at imdb tells you the person in question is a gallery director...
NG
noggin Founding member
"News Director" is the term for the head of the news department in pretty much every market in the US, not just small ones.

I guess I should have been clearer - "News Director" is a term I associate with regional stations, not network news departments, in the US.